Board of Directors for the VIEx 2020

Executive

Karen Streeter

Karen Streeter

President - Sponsorship Director

Karen is the President of the Vancouver Island Exhibition. She has been involved with the VIEx for 23 years. Starting out as an exhibitor with her emus, Karen joined the Board and has held the positions of Livestock Director, past President, Vice-President and Secretary. In addition to her current roles, she is also the chairperson of the VIEx’s 52 bed Community Garden and the Vice President of the BC Fairs Provincial Association.

Karen was born in Edmonton, raised in Nanaimo and now lives in Lantzville. She has been married for 35 years, has 5 children and 8 grandchildren, which keep her very busy. Karen believes strongly in the impact and benefits that fairs contribute to all communities. As Nanaimo is a large urban area with very few farms left, the VIEx is needed to reinforce tradition and teach people where their food comes from. You can contact Karen at kstreeter@viex.ca

Margaret Joyce

Margaret Joyce

Vice President - Home Arts Director

Born and raised in Nanaimo, Margaret has been a Director of the VIEx since 2009, and is the past Secretary of the Board. Her passion for arts and crafts has made her an influential Director of the Home Arts section of VIEx. She loves showcasing the talent and many groups of the crafting community of Nanaimo. She can be caught often going through new crafts fondly. You can contact Margaret at mjoyce@viex.ca

Melissa Rivard

Melissa Rivard

Secretary - Office

You can contact Melissa at mrivard@viex.ca.

Stephen Kass

Stephen Kass

Treasurer - Concession and Outside Vendors Director

Stephen Kass considers himself a long time Vancouver Islander. Having lived in the Nanaimo for over 35 years, he has raised his family, operated his retail Halloween and haunted house businesses, and has been a proud volunteer in the community.

In 2004, Stephen became part of the VIEx family. Elected as President for 4 years and subsequently holding the Treasurer position for the last 12 years, Stephen has seen many changes to the City and the VIEx. As a lifetime VIEx member, Stephen looks forward to the ongoing development and completion of the new Agricultural Centre at Beban Park in the upcoming years. You can contact Stephen at skass@viex.ca.

Directors At Large

Contessa Abbott

Contessa Abbott

Family Fun Zone Director

Contessa Abbott has been involved with the Alberta music and festival industry over 10 years. She started by organizing workshops and facilitating conferences while taking her Social Work Bachelor’s Degree, and raising her four children. She proudly has influenced many community development and grassroots projects, combining her love of music and helping others together. Over the years she was able to work with many notable artists and organizations in the fashion, acting, music, and humanitarian fields.

Being a part of VIEx is a family affair for her and her children. They are excited to continue expanding the family fun zone as well as including more youth interests into the area. Contessa looks forward to being a part of VIEx for her term and for many years to come. You can contact Contessa at cabbott@viex.ca

Jim Brown

Jim Brown

Livestock and 4H Director

If it has to do with animals, then Jim Brown is the person you need to chat with. As a lifetime member, Jim has been volunteering his time for over 16 years at the VIEx. And he can also be seen at other fairs and events on the Island as well.

Whether working with his 4-H groups or other animal enthusiasts, Jim’s dedication to the health and wellness of all animals in the community is a testament to his commitment for a strong agricultural presence for future years to come.

If you have any questions or comments, you can contact Jim at jbrown@viex.ca.

John Bruce

John Bruce

Grounds Director

You can contact John at jbruce@viex.ca

Debbie (Deb) Cosman

Debbie (Deb) Cosman

Community Fesitval Stage Director

You can contact Deb at dcosman@viex.ca

Luke Hayward

Luke Hayward

Security Director

You can contact Luke at lhayward@viex.ca

Glen Kirkpatrick

Glen Kirkpatrick

Maintenance Director

You can contact Glen at gkirkpatrick@viex.ca

Elissa Miranda

Elissa Miranda

Social Media & Volunteer Director

You can contact Elissa at emiranda@viex.ca

Michelle Solloway

Michelle Solloway

Main Stage Director

You can contact Michelle at msolloway@viex.ca